Oh God, another heat wave…

… and our old air conditioning unit is too ill to use.  I hate sweating.  Hate.  It.  I would love to wear a sweater anytime soon, or at least need one in the evenings sitting out.  But it’s just tepid bath and tepid shower, over and over again.

Yesterday I did a lot of cleaning, preparing for the visitors coming on Sunday.  I’m thinking 20 tops will show, which is enough for this small space.  I worry about my niece and her husband, being that they are extremely heavy.  Husband assures me that the deck is sturdy, and our new chairs are as well.  Thankfully the old Ikea wicker chairs are gone.  Cheap as they were, they only lasted [barely] 4 seasons.

So I washed floors, dusted and vacuumed.  Sweat poring off of my back by 10 am in the morning, I took a break and watched a Buffy with daughter.  Then the basement  to attack bathroom and cat room and unruly bookshelves…  Found a mushroom growing under the shower stall and promptly moved de-humidifier into that room to dry it out.

Husband commented that the only thing it was doing was pulling the dampness out from beneath the deck unless we closed the window in there…  I was a bit rude [husband has not been breathing right this week] and then felt badly later on so I got the Rubbermaid stool, and crawled up onto the washer and closed the stubborn window.

And I wrecked my back.  The same spot that always wants to act up.  Lower back to the right.

So today I’m nearly half disabled, and have more to do on the upper level.  Then I have to do the shopping so tomorrow can be spent organizing and preparing food.  Saturday I work.  My back hurts.  I’m sulking.

Our coffee maker has decided to be touchy.  Doesn’t like the humidity.  Won’t work in this weather.

A mound of basil from old Gus down the street ~ need to make pesto today as well.

On with it.

About upholsteress

Trying to live a quietly creative life as simply as possible.
This entry was posted in Mid-life Scatters and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

